I was born in Paris in 1957, and grew up largely in Nantes, a major provincial town in the West of France.

My initial exposure to abstract art came through my grandmother, who had a small collection of Modern Art and frequently took me along to galleries of contemporary works.  After I left school, I spent some time working as a photographer’s assistant in Paris.  At the age of 21, I moved to the French Caribbean island of St. Barts, where I became a furniture maker.

Five years later, my life’s journey took me to Costa Rica, where I spent a couple of years, making furniture and enjoying an ascetic lifestyle on an orange and coffee plantation.

After I married a New Zealander in late 1986, we moved to Hawkes Bay (New Zealand) where I combined raising two sons with crafting furniture pieces.  During those years, I participated in a number of craft exhibitions, which culminated in a ‘duo’ show in Hastings in 1992.  My furniture had a distinct emphasis on design and was built with care.  Sales were slow however, and I gradually moved across to the discipline of design.  I became a part-time tutor in product design, in the arts department of the local technical college (EIT, Hawkes Bay).

In 2002, I returned to formal studies in that same college and gained a Bachelor in Visual Arts, followed the next year by a Post Graduate Diploma in Fine Arts from Elam in Auckland.

I have been painting assiduously since then, and my work has been shown in Auckland, Wellington, Dunedin, and Hawkes Bay.

B i o g r a p h i c a l   N o t e s

Biographical Notes
Words

Gallery